Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Dougherty County

Dougherty County

Dougherty County is named for Charles Dougherty, who was a lawyer from Athens, Georgia and a states rights advocate.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Terrell County and Lee County

E – Worth County

S – Mitchell County and Baker County

W – Calhoun County


Created:  December 15, 1853                Map of Georgia highlighting Dougherty County

County Seat: 

Albany  1853 – present


County Courthouse – Albany 


Location:  225 Pine Avenue / Hall Street

Built:  1966 – 1968

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Harry A MacEwen and Edmond V Jones

Contractor:  Davis Construction & Engineers, Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Albany. The south front forms a “U” with a west and east two story wing with a courtyard between. The central front has five high narrow arches with a recessed entrance. Above the two story entrance, the third story is recessed with arched windows. In the interior there is a small rotunda. The County Superior Court courtroom is located on the third story and has large arched windows and wood paneled walls. The building houses the County Superior Court, County State Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate and County Magistrate Court of the 2nd Judicial District. The building is named as the County Judicial Building. To the south is the County Government Center.


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Atkinson CountyBaker CountyBerrien CountyBrooks County. Calhoun CountyClay CountyClinch CountyColquitt CountyCook CountyDecatur CountyEarly County, Echols CountyGrady CountyIrwin CountyLanier County, Lowndes County, Miller CountyMitchell County, Quitman CountyRandolph CountySeminole CountyTerrell CountyThomas CountyTift CountyTurner County and Worth County 


History:  The county was created in 1853 and Albany was selected as the county seat. The first court met in rented premises until the first courthouse was built in Albany by slave labor in 1856. The second courthouse was designed by T F Lockwood and constructed by W T Hadlow Company in 1904. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1966. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1968 as a shared building with the City of Albany. In 1993, the building became the County Judicial Building.


County Administration Building – Albany



Location:  240 Pine Avenue / Court Avenue

Built:  1998 – 1999

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story buff colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Albany to the south west of the courthouse. The east end has large vertical pillars rising to the roof line. Behind the pillars are glass panels. The roof line is flat. The building is the Central Square Government Complex.


County Government Center – Albany



Location:  222 Pine Avenue / Court Avenue

Built:  1992 – 1993

Style:  Modern

Architect:  David Maschhi & Associates and Yielding & Wakeford Associates of Albany

Contractor:  Williams Construction Company of Columbus


Description:  The building faces north and is a five story dark red colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Albany to the south of the courthouse. The north front has a projecting portico on the first story with pillars rising to support a curved roof. The center section projects from the main building  and rises to the roof life. There are projecting east and west corner sections with porches on the first story. The building is the Central Square Government Center and houses the County and City of Albany offices.



County Courthouse – Albany




















County Superior Court courtroom





County Superior Court small courtroom









County Administration Building – Albany





County Government Center – Albany









Photos taken 2009 and 2018