Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Decatur County

Decatur County

Decatur County is named for Stephen Decatur, who was served in the Barbary war and War of 1812 as a naval officer.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Miller CountyBaker County and Mitchell County

E – Grady County

S – Gadsden County, Florida

W – Jackson County, Florida and Seminole County


Created:  December 8, 1823                  Map of Georgia highlighting Decatur County

County Seat: 

Bainbridge    1824 – present


County Courthouse – Bainbridge 


Location:  112 West Water Street / North West Street

Built:  1902 – 1903

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Alexander Blair III of Macon

Contractor:  Nicholas Ittner


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Bainbridge. The east front has a large portico supported by four large white colored Corinthian columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. In the pediment is a cartouche. The hipped roof is capped by a balustrade with corner urn finials. Square and round arched windows are used in the main body of the building. On the corner rectangular clock tower are balconies, pedimented windows and a balustrade. The tower has an octagonal domed cupola topped with a bell lantern. The clock was purchased from the E Howard Clock Company. On the southeast corner of the building is a four story square brick clock tower with open cupola at the top. The south side of the building has two large arches on the first story and a large square tower on the southwest corner with balustrade around the top. In the interior is wood finishing and stairs. The County Superior Court courtroom is located on the second story.  In the courtroom four mantels remain and at the rear is a gallery. There are the original louvered blinds, the old pressed metal ceiling, beaded board wainscoting and old wooden bench. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate and County Magistrate Court of the 2nd Judicial District. The building was renovated in 1978 and 1979. To the west is the two story red colored brick Courthouse Annex.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Decatur County Courthouse


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Atkinson CountyBaker CountyBerrien CountyBrooks County. Calhoun CountyClay CountyClinch CountyColquitt CountyCook CountyDougherty CountyEarly County, Echols CountyGrady CountyIrwin CountyLanier County, Lowndes County, Miller CountyMitchell County, Quitman CountyRandolph CountySeminole CountyTerrell CountyThomas CountyTift CountyTurner County and Worth County 


History:  The county was created in 1823 and the Bainbridge was selected as the county seat in 1824. The first court met at the home of George G Gaines House. The first courthouse was a wood structure built in 1824. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1832. In 1856 a large brick courthouse was built as the third courthouse. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1902 to 1903 at a cost of $34,500.



County Courthouse – Bainbridge















County Superior Court courtroom













County Courthouse Annex – Bainbridge





Photos taken 2009 and 2018