Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Atkinson County

Atkinson County


Atkinson County is named for William Y Atkinson, who was a former governor of Georgia.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Coffee County 

E – Ware County

S – Clinch County and Lanier County

W – Berrien County


Created:  January 1, 1919                      Map of Georgia highlighting Atkinson County

County Seat: 

Pearson  1919 – present


County Courthouse – Pearson 


Location:  305 Main Street / East Roberts Avenue

Built:  1919 – 1920

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  James J Baldwin

Contractor:  Holley Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Pearson. The north front has a two story recessed porch with four large Doric columns rising to a wide header with the words “Atkinson County Courthouse” inscribed in the frieze. The entrance is trimmed with stone.  Quoins on the corners of the building are stone and a horizontal band runs between the first and second stories. On the center of the roof is a square white colored cupola with clock and white colored dome at the top. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County Superior Court courtroom is located on the second story. The courtroom has a high ceiling, an “S” curved balcony and white colored vertical pilasters and designs. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate and County Magistrate Court of the 2nd Judicial District. On the south side is the old one story red colored brick County Jail.


See: The architect, James J Baldwin also designed courthouses in Bacon CountyBarrow County, Bleckley CountyCandler CountyEvans County, Lee County, Liberty County and Treutlen County, and in North Carolina in Cherokee County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Atkinson County Courthouse


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Baker CountyBerrien CountyBrooks County. Calhoun CountyClay CountyClinch CountyColquitt CountyCook CountyDecatur CountyDougherty CountyEarly County, Echols CountyGrady CountyIrwin CountyLanier County, Lowndes County, Miller CountyMitchell County, Quitman CountyRandolph CountySeminole CountyTerrell CountyThomas CountyTift CountyTurner County and Worth County 


History:  The county was created in 1919 and Pearson was selected as the county seat. The courthouse is the first and only courthouse erected in 1919 in the county.



County Courthouse – Pearson







County Superior Court courtroom





Old County Jail on south side





Photos taken 2009