Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Randolph County

Randolph County

Randolph County is named for John Randolph, who was a Virginia congressman.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Stewart County and Webster County

E – Terrell County

S – Calhoun County and Clay County

W – Clay County and Quitman County


Created:  December 20, 1828                Map of Georgia highlighting Randolph County

County Seat: 

Lumpkin   1828 – 1831

Cuthbert   1831 – present


Old County Courthouse – Cuthbert


Location:  208 Court Street / West Pine Street

Built:  1886 – 1887

Style:  Queen Anne

Architect:  L B Wheeler, W H Parkins and H I Kimball of Atlanta

Contractor:  J J Flood


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure.  The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Cuthbert. There is a high square clock tower on the southeast corner with steep roof. Over the main entrance is Dutch stepped gable. In the interior, the former courtroom is located on the second story and has a wood floor and galley at the rear.. The building is now the Welcome Center and was restored in 2013 to 2015 at a cost of $500,000.


County Courthouse – Cuthbert



Location:  93 East Front Street / South Gordon Street

Built:  2005 – 2006

Style:  Modern

Architect:  IPG, Inc. ( Ingram Parris Group ) of Valdosta

Contractor:  Anderson Construction Company of Fort Gaines


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Cuthbert to the south of the old courthouse. The entrance towards the south has a wide arch with recessed glass entrance, There is red colored brick on the bottom three-quarters and yellow colored brick above. The roof is sloped. In the interior, the County Superior Court courtroom is located in the center of the building. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 2nd Judicial District.


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Atkinson CountyBaker CountyBerrien CountyBrooks County. Calhoun CountyClay CountyClinch CountyColquitt CountyCook CountyDecatur CountyDougherty CountyEarly County, Echols CountyGrady CountyIrwin CountyLanier County, Lowndes County, Miller CountyMitchell County, Quitman CountySeminole CountyTerrell CountyThomas CountyTift CountyTurner County and Worth County 


History:  The county was created in 1828 and Lumpkin was selected as the county seat. The first court met at private homes in Lumpkin in 1830 until it became the county seat for Stewart County in 1831 and Cuthbert became the new county seat. The first courthouse was a wooden structure built in 1837. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1845 to 1846. The third courthouse was constructed on in 1886 to 1887 and is still standing. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 2005 to 2006.




Old County Courthouse – Cuthbert

























Former Courtroom



















County Courthouse – Cuthbert









County Superior Court courtroom













Photos taken 2010 and 2020