Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Early County

Early County

Early County is named for Peter Early, who was a former governor, congressman and judge and who lived from 1773 to 1817.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clay County and Calhoun County

E – Calhoun CountyBaker County and Miller County

S – Seminole County

W – Houston County, Alabama and  Henry County, Alabama 


Created:  December 15, 1818                Map of Georgia highlighting Early County

County Seat: 

Blakely          1818 – present


County Courthouse – Blakely


Location:  111 Court Square / Main Street

Built:  1904 – 1905

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Morgan & Dillon

Contractor:  W T Jay


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Blakely. The south front has a large portico supported by four large white colored Tuscan columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. At the corners of the building, there are brick quoins. There are large windows on the second story behind the portico. On the center of the hipped roof is a large round dome with clock and black colored dome. The interior has grey marble wainscoting, floors and stairs. The large County Superior Court courtroom is located at the center of the second story, rising into the third story. The building houses the County Superior Court, County State Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate and County Magistrate Court of the 2nd Judicial District. The building was renovated in 1992 to 1994. The architect was Ellis, Ricket & Associates of Valdosta and the contractor was Anderson Construction Company of Fort Gaines.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Early County Courthouse


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Atkinson CountyBaker CountyBerrien CountyBrooks County. Calhoun CountyClay CountyClinch CountyColquitt CountyCook CountyDecatur CountyDougherty CountyEchols CountyGrady CountyIrwin CountyLanier County, Lowndes County, Miller CountyMitchell County, Quitman CountyRandolph CountySeminole CountyTerrell CountyThomas CountyTift CountyTurner County and Worth County 


History:  The county was created in 1818 and Blakely was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of Richard Grimsley from 1819 to 1825. The first courthouse was built in 1826. The second courthouse was built in 1858. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1904 to 1905.



County Courthouse – Blakely

















County Superior Court courtroom






























Photos taken 2009 and 2020