Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Mitchell County

Mitchell County

Mitchell County is named for Henry Mitchell, who was a hero of the American Revolutionary War and former president of the Georgia Senate, and who lived from 1760 to 1839.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Baker County and Dougherty County

E – Worth County and Colquitt County

S – Thomas CountyGrady County and Decatur County

W – Baker County


Created:  December 21, 1857                Map of Georgia highlighting Mitchell County

County Seat: 

Camilla  1858 – present


County Courthouse – Camilla 


Location:  11 West Broad Street / North Court Avenue

Built:  1936 – 1937

Style:  Art Deco and Stripped Classical

Architect:  William J J Chase

Contractor:  Griffin Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story white colored Georgia marble and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Camilla. The south front has a projecting center section with three vertical windows having the entrance in the centre of the first story. At the top is a clock. The east and west wings extend south from the main building. In the interior, the large County Superior Court courtroom is located on the second story and has marble walls.The building houses the County Superior Court, County State Court, County Juvenile Court and County Probate Court of the 2nd Judicial District. The building was a Works Projects Administration project. On the west side of the building is the Magistrate Court building.


See:  The architect, William J J Chase also designed courthouses in Carroll CountyCoffee County, Cook CountyOconee CountyPolk CountyRockdale CountySeminole CountyTroup County and Ware County.


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Atkinson CountyBaker CountyBerrien CountyBrooks County. Calhoun CountyClay CountyClinch CountyColquitt CountyCook CountyDecatur CountyDougherty CountyEarly County, Echols CountyGrady CountyIrwin CountyLanier County, Lowndes County, Miller CountyQuitman CountyRandolph CountySeminole CountyTerrell CountyThomas CountyTift CountyTurner County and Worth County 


History:  The county was created in 1857 and Camila was selected as the county seat in 1858. The first courthouse was a two story wood structure built in Camilla in 1858. The building burned and was replaced by the second courthouse in 1869 which was also a two story wood structure. The third courthouse was designed by Bruce and Morgan and constructed by Dawson Variely Manufacturing Company in 1890. The building was torn down when the fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1936 to 1937.



County Courthouse – Camilla

















County Superior Court courtroom















Cornerstone 1890 County Courthouse



Picture 1890 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2009 and 2018