Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Calhoun County

Calhoun County

Calhoun County is named for John C Calhoun, who was a United States statesman and Vice President.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Randolph County and Terrell County

E – Dougherty County 

S – Baker County and Early County

W – Early County and Clay County


Created:  February 20, 1854                  Map of Georgia highlighting Calhoun County

County Seat: 

Morgan     1854 – 1923

Arlington   1923 – 1929

Morgan     1929 – present


County Courthouse – Morgan


Location:  31 Court Street / School Street

Built:  1930 – 1931

Style:  Colonial Revival

Architect:  T F Lockwood Jr.

Contractor:  Huber Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick, wood and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Morgan.  The building is “T” shaped and the east front has a central portico supported by four columns rising to a pediment with clock at the roof line. Behind the portico is a white colored façade. Behind the portico is a white colored façade. The north and south wings are recessed. On the center of the roof is a small octagonal white colored cupola. In the interior, there is a cross plan with small rotunda at the center of the first story. The County Superior Court courtroom is located on the second story and has a high ceiling, wood paneled walls and a balcony at the rear. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and County Magistrate Court of the 2nd Judicial District. The building was renovated in 1972. In 1998, an addition was constructed. The architect was EMO/ Architects of Tallahassee, Florida and the contractor was JCI General Contractors, Inc. of Moultrie.


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Atkinson CountyBaker CountyBerrien CountyBrooks County. Clay CountyClinch CountyColquitt CountyCook CountyDecatur CountyDougherty CountyEarly County, Echols CountyGrady CountyIrwin CountyLanier County, Lowndes County, Miller CountyMitchell County, Quitman CountyRandolph CountySeminole CountyTerrell CountyThomas CountyTift CountyTurner County and Worth County 


History:  The county was created in 1854 and Morgan was selected as the county seat in 1856. The first courthouse was built in Morgan in 1865. The courthouse burned in 1888. The second courthouse was built in 1889 but burned in 1920. The county seat was moved to Arlington in 1923 and then back to Morgan in 1929. The third and present courthouse was not constructed until 1930 to 1931.




County Courthouse – Morgan















County Superior Court courtroom



















Photos taken 2009 and 2020