Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Seminole County

Seminole County

Seminole County is named for the Seminole Native American tribe who resided in the region.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Early County and Miller County

E – Decatur County

S – Decatur County and Gadsden County, Florida

W – Jackson County, Florida and Houston County, Alabama 


Created:  July 20, 1920                          Map of Georgia highlighting Seminole County

County Seat: 

Donalsonville  1921 – present


County Courthouse – Donalsonville 


Location:  200 Knox Avenue / Court Street

Built:  1922 – 1923

Style:  Neo-Classical and Beaux Arts Classicism

Architect:  William J J Chase

Contractor:  Opelika Construction


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story dark red colored brick and concrete  structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Donalsonville. The east front has a large projecting center section with four large columns rising to a wide header with clock at the roof line. The central entrance and side windows have arch frames with rectangular windows on the second story. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County Superior Court courtroom is located on the second story. Behind the judge’s bench is a small pediment with coupled columns on each side. Circular medalions containing Roman numerals I – X, symbolizing the Ten Commandments are in the four corners of the courtroom. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 2nd Judicial District. The building was renovated in 1978 – 1979.


See:  The architect, William J J Chase also designed courthouses in Carroll CountyCoffee County, Cook CountyMitchell CountyOconee CountyPolk CountyRockdale CountyTroup County and Ware County.


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Atkinson CountyBaker CountyBerrien CountyBrooks County. Calhoun CountyClay CountyClinch CountyColquitt CountyCook CountyDecatur CountyDougherty CountyEarly County, Echols CountyGrady CountyIrwin CountyLanier County, Lowndes County, Miller CountyMitchell County, Quitman CountyRandolph CountyTerrell CountyThomas CountyTift CountyTurner County and Worth County 


History:  The county was created in 1920 and Donaldson was selected as the county seat in 1921. The courthouse is the first and only courthouse built in the county. The cost of construction of the courthouse and jail was $85,000 and the cost of renovation in 1978 and 1979 was $114,000.



County Courthouse = Donalsonville

















County Superior Court courtroom









Photos taken 2009 and 2018