Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Florida » Jackson County

Jackson County

Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, who was the 7th President of the United States from 1829 to 1837.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Geneva County, Alabama and Houston County, Alabama

E – Seminole County. Georgia, Decatur County, Georgia and Gadsden County

S – Liberty CountyCalhoun County and Bay County

W – Washington County and Holmes County


Created:  August 12, 1822                     Map of Florida highlighting Jackson County

County Seat:

Webbville  1822 – 1828

Marianna   1828 – present


County Courthouse – Marianna 


Location:  4445 Lafayette Street / Madison Street

Built:  1961 – 1962

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Barrett Daffine Bishop of Tallahassee

Contractor:  Beers Construction Company of Atlanta, Georgia


Description: The building faces north and is a two story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Marianna. Around the outside of the building are concrete pillars which extend outwards at the top. There is recessed walkway around the first story and the roof line is flat. The entrances are recessed. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtrooom is located at the center of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 14th Judicial Circuit and County Court. In 2012, alterations were completed. The architect was Paul Donofro & Associates of Marianna and the contractor was Ajax Building Corporation of Midway.


See:  The 14th Judicial Circuit includes Bay CountyCalhoun County, Gulf CountyHolmes County and Washington County.


See:  The county is located in the First Judicial District of the Court of Appeal – First Judicial District located in Tallahassee.


History:  The county was created in 1822 and the first commissioners met at the home of Mrs. Hull. The first county seat was designated as Webbville. Marianna was selected as the county seat in 1828 and the first courthouse was built in 1829. The courthouse burned on November 30, 1848 and the second courthouse was erected in 1849. The third courthouse was designed by Alexander Blair and constructed by M T Lewman & Company in 1906. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1961 to 1962.


County Administration Building – Marianna 



Location:  2864 Madison Street / Jackson Street

Built:  1987 – 1988

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description: The building faces west and is a two story cream colored stucco and concrete structure. The building is located on the east side of the courthouse in the center of Marianna. The west front has horizontal windows. The upper part has brown colored siding and the roof line is flat.



County Courthouse – Marianna




















County Circuit Court courtroom

















County Administration Building – Marianna







Photos taken 2009, 2018 and 2023