Skip to content
Home » US States » N » Nevada


Nevada became the 36th state on October 31, 1864. Carson City is the state capital. There are currently 16 counties and i independent city each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Carson City  Churchill  Clark  Douglas  Elko
Esmeralda   Eureka  Humboldt Lander Lincoln
Lyon   Mineral  Nye Pershing   Storey
Washoe  White Pine       

Nevada Supreme Court


Highest Point – Boundary Peak ( 13,140 feet ) is located in Esmeralda County

Lowest Point  – Colorado River ( 240 feet ) is located in Clark County


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Storey County (1876-1877)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Lander County (Austin – 1871-1872) and Lincoln County (1871-1872)


State Capitol – Carson City


State Legislative Assembly – Carson City


Governor Mansion – Carson City