Skip to content
Home » US States » N » Nevada » Esmeralda County

Esmeralda County

Esmeralda County is named for the Esmeralda Mining District which was named for possibly the character Esmeralda of “The Hunchback of Notre Dame” or for the Spanish and Portuguese word for “emerald”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Mineral County and Nye County

E – Nye County

S – Inyo County, California

W – Inyo County, California, Mono County, California and Mineral County


Created:  November 25, 1861                                                    Map of Nevada highlighting Esmeralda County

County Seat: 

Aurora         1861 – 1883

Hawthorne  1883 – 1907

Goldfield     1907 – present


County Courthouse – Goldfield


Location:  233 Crook Street / Euclid Street

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style:  lArmoury

Architect:  M J Curtis

Contractor:  John Shea of Salt Lake City, Utah


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored cut stone structure. The building is located in the center of Goldfield. The south front has a central entrance on the first story with a canopy above. The roof line is detailed with unique crenelated parapets on the east and west and with a high parapet in the center. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County District Court courtroom is located on the second story.


Note:  The $79,833 construction bid for the courthouse was awarded to John Shea of Salt Lake City, Utah in July 1907.


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Nye County.


History:  The first county seat in 1861 was Aurora where a courthouse was erected which also served as the courthouse for Mono County, California. The second courthouse was constructed in Hawthorne in 1883. When Mineral County was created, the third and present courthouse was constructed in Goldfield in 1907 to 1908.


Note:  The highest point in Nevada is Boundary Peak at 13,140 feet ( 4005 meters ) which is located in the county. 



County Courthouse – Goldfield

















County District Court courtroom







Photos taken 2002 and 2013