Skip to content
Home » US States » N » New Mexico

New Mexico

New Mexico became the 47th state on January 6, 1912. Santa Fe is the state capital. There are currently 33 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Bernalillo  Catron Chaves Cibola  Colfax 
Curry  De Baca Dona Ana Eddy  Grant 
Guadalupe Harding Hidalgo  Lea Lincoln 
Los Alamos Luna  McKinley Mora  Otero 
Quay  Rio Arriba  Roosevelt  San Juan  San Miguel 
Sandoval  Santa Fe  Sierra  Socorro  Taos 
Torrance  Union Valencia    

New Mexico Court of Appeals – Albuquerque

New Mexico Supreme Court


Highest Point – Wheeler Peak ( 13,167 feet ) is located in Taos County.

Lowest Point  – Red Bluff Reservoir ( 5,701 feet ) is located in Eddy County.


Oldest Courthouse – Union County (1910)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Lincoln County (1874)


State Capitol – Santa Fe


Governor Mansion – Santa Fe