Skip to content
Home » US States » N » New Mexico » Catron County

Catron County

Catron County is named for Thomas B Catron.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Cibola County

E – Socorro County and Sierra County

S – Grant County

W – Greenlee County, Arizona and Apache County, Arizona


Created:  February 25, 1921                  Map of New Mexico highlighting Catron County

County Seat:

Reserve  1921 – present


County Courthouse – Reserve


Location:  101 Main Street / 4th Street

Built:  1968 – 1969

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  Kruger, Lake & Henderson

Contractor:  Medley Construction Company


Description: The building faces west and is a two story brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Reserve. The west front is brick with a recessed entrance where the second story of pink concrete extends over the entrance patio. The roof is hipped. The building houses the District Court and Magistrate Court of the 7th Judicial District.


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Sierra County, Socorro County and Torrance County.


History:  The county was created in 1921 and Reserve was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1916. In 1921, plans were designed by Henry C Trost for a new courthouse which was not built. The old courthouse was demolished when the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1968 top 1969.



County Courthouse – Reserve











Photos taken 2007