Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arizona » Apache County

Apache County


Apache County is named for the Apache an Native American people who reside in the area.  


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – San Juan County, Utah

E – San Juan County, New Mexico, McKinley County, New Mexico, Cibola County, New Mexico and Catron County, New Mexico

S – Greenlee County and Graham County 

W – Navajo County


Created:   February 24, 1879                 Map of Arizona highlighting Apache County

County Seat:

Snowflake         1879

Saint Johns       1879 – 1880

Springerville     1880 – 1882

Saint Johns       1882 – present


County Courthouse – Saint Johns


Location:  70 West 3rd Street South / South 1st Street West

Built:  1917 – 1918

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Trost and Trost of El Paso, Texas

Contractor:  N P Olson Construction


 Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red-pinkish colored stone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Saint Johns and has a recessed portico supported by two large stone columns. Above is a pediment with rough stone at the top and extending along the roofline. The building houses the County Superior Court of Division I and County Justice Court (Saint Johns). The building was remodeled in 1933. The architect was Kitchell CEM and the contractor was Sigma Contracting, Inc. An addition was added on the west side 1n 1964.


Note:  The contractor for the Apache County Courthouse was N P Olson Construction whose winning bid of $36,367 was approved by the Board of Supervisors on April 18, 1917. Olson was given eight months to complete construction of the building which was designed by Trost & Trost of El Paso, Texas.


See:  The architect, Trost and Trost of El Paso, Texas also designed courthouses in McKinley CountyNew Mexico and Reeves,CountyTexas.


See:  Division I Phoenix includeas Coconino County, La Paz CountyMaricopa CountyMohave CountyNavajo County, Yavapai County and Yuma County


County Courthouse Annex – Saint Johns


Location:  75 West Cleveland Street / North 1st Street West

Built:  1926

Style:  Schoolhouse

Architect:  Trost and Trost of El Paso, Texas

Contractor:  Unknown


 Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Saint Johns to the north of the courthouse. The building was the former Saint Johns High School and was acquired as the County Courthouse Annex in 1988. 


History:  The county was created in 1879 and Snowflake was selected as the county seat. In 1879, the county seat was moved to Saint Johns, then to Springerville in 1880 and back to Saint Johns in 1882. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1917 to 1918 at a cost of $36,367.



County Courthouse – Saint Johns











Photos taken 2008