Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arizona » Coconino County

Coconino County


Coconino County is named for the Coconino Native American people, a Hopi designation for Havasupai and Yavapai people who reside in the area.      


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Kane County, Utah and San Juan County, Utah

E  – Navajo County

S – Gila County and Yavapai County

W – Mohave County


Created:  February 19, 1891                  Map of Arizona highlighting Coconino County

County Seat:        

Flagstaff  1891 – present

County Courthouse – Flagstaff


Location:  200 North San Francisco Street / East Birch Avenue

Built:  1894 – 1895

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  J N Preston

Contractor:  H Clements & Company of Los Angeles, California


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story red colored sandstone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Flagstaff. The building has a four story square red colored sandstone tower on the southwest corner. The main entrance at the base of the tower has two arches framing the recessed doors. The second story windows are arched. The building houses the County Justice Court. The building has been restored to its 1925 appearance. The architect was Johnson Walzer Associates and the contractor was Maverick Masonry. Along the north side is the new Judicial Center built in 2002.


Note:  The courthouse is the oldest courthouse in Arizona still used as a courthouse.


County Judicial Center  – Flagstaff



Location:  200 North San Francisco Street / East Birch Avenue

Built:  2001 – 2002

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Johnson Walzer Associates

Contractor:  Skidmore Contracting Corporation


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Flagstaff along the west side of the courthouse. The building has a recessed porch along the south side on the first story. The upper windows are narrow and vertical. The roof line is flat. The building is attached on the south side to the old court house. The building houses the County Superior Court of Division I. 


See:  Division I Phoenix includes Apache CountyLa Paz CountyMaricopa CountyMohave CountyNavajo County, Yavapai County and Yuma County


History:  The county was created in 1861 and Flagstaff was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1894 to 1895. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 2001 to 2002.


Note:  The highest point in Arizona is Humphreys Peak at 12,633 feet ( 3851 meters ) which is located in the county. 


County Courthouse – Flagstaff



















County Administration Building – Flagstaff

Photos taken 2008