Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arizona » Yavapai County

Yavapai County

Yavapai County is named for the Yavapai an Native American people who resided in the central area of Arizona


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Coconino County

E – Coconino County and Gila County

S – Maricopa County 

W – La Paz County and Mohave County


Created:  November 8, 1864                  Map of Arizona highlighting Yavapai County

County Seat:         

Prescott  1864 – present

County Courthouse – Prescott

Location:  120 South Cortez Street / East Gurley Street

Built:  1916 – 1917

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:   William N Bowman

Contractor:  Rogers & Ashton


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story gray stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Prescott. The north, east and south porticos have six large stone columns and recessed entrance. The east front has a pediment above the columns. A protruding cornice runs below the flat roofline. The building houses the County Superior Court of Division I and County Justice Court (Prescott). 


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Yavapai County Courthouse


Note:  There is a branch courthouse in Camp Verde at 2840 North Commonwealth Drive / West Sharp Shooter Way.


See:  Division I Phoenix includeas Apache CountyCoconino County, La Paz CountyMaricopa CountyMohave CountyNavajo County and Yuma County



County Courthouse – Prescott















Photos eaken 2008