Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arizona » Yuma County

Yuma County

Yuma County is named for the Yuma an Native American people who reside in the area and who are called “Quechan”.   


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – La Paz County

E – Maricopa County and Pima County

S – Mexico

W – Mexico and  Imperial County, California


Created:  November 8, 1864                  Map of Arizona highlighting Yuma County

County Seat:

La Paz 1864 – 1871

Yuma     1871 – present

County Courthouse – Yuma

Location:   168 South 2nd Avenue / West 2nd Street

Built:  1928 – 1929

Style: Spanish

Architect:  Ralph Swearingen and G A Hanssen

Contractor:  Frank M Connor


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story brownish stucco and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Yuma. The building has a protruding center section which rises three stories with small arched windows on the third story. On the west side is a central wing. The windows on the second story are also arched. Brown colored trim is along the building corners. A brown colored cornice runs below the flat roof line. The superintendent during construction was J C Brown.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Yuma County Courthouse


County Justice Center – Yuma




Location:   250 West 2nd Street / South 3rd Avenue

Built:  2003 – 2005

Style: Modern

Architect:   Durrant

Contractor:  Pilkington Construction Inc.


Description:   The building faces south and is a three story concrete, brick and glass structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Yuma adjacent to the courthouse located on the east side. The building has four high pillars with a protruding glass center section on the second story. Shorter pillars are along the first story. A wide concrete band runs along the flat roof line. The building houses the County Superior Court of Division I and County Justice Court – Precinct 1 (Yuma). 


See:  County Justice Courts are located in San Luis (Precinct 2) at 1358 East Liberty Street / 6th Avenue and in Wellton (Precinct 3) at 10620 Dome Street / Bakersfield Avenue


See:  Division I Phoenix includeas Apache CountyCoconino County, La Paz CountyMaricopa CountyMohave CountyNavajo County and Yavapai County


History:  The county was created in 1864 and La Paz was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was erected in La Paz. In 1871, the county seat was moved to Yuma ( Arizona City ) and the second courthouse was erected. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1928


Note:  The lowest point in Arizona is the Colorado River at 70 feet ( 21 meters ) which is located in the county. 



County Courthouse – Yuma















Yuma Territorial Prison State Historic Park – Yuma









Photos taken 2008