Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Connecticut


Connecticut became the 5th state on January 9, 1788. Hartford is the state capital. There are currently 8 former counties each with a courthouse. Counties were discontinued in 1960.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Fairfield  Hartford  Litchfield  Middlesex  New Haven 
New London  Tolland Windham    

Connecticut Supreme Court

Connecticut Appellate Court


Highest Point – Mount Frisell ( 2,380 feet ) is located in Litchfield County.

Lowest Point  – Atlantic Ocean ( sea level ) 


Oldest Courthouse – New London County (1739)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Tolland County (Toland – 1823)


State House – Hartford


Governor Mansion – Hartford