Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Colorado


Colorado became the 38th state on August 1, 1876. Denver is the state capital. There are currently 64 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Adams Alamosa Arapahoe Archuleta Baca
Bent Boulder Broomfield Chaffee  Cheyenne 
Clear Creek Conejos  Costilla Crowley  Custer 
Delta  Denver  Dolores Douglas  Eagle
El Paso  Elbert  Fremont  Garfield  Gilpin 
Grand  Gunnison Hinsdale  Huerfano Jackson 
Jefferson Kiowa  Kit Carson La Plata Lake
Larimer Las Animas Lincoln Logan  Mesa 
Mineral Moffat  Montezuma  Montrose Morgan
Otero Ouray Park  Phillips Pitkin
Prowers  Pueblo  Rio Blanco  Rio Grande Routt 
Saguache San Juan  San Miguel  Sedgwick Summit 
Teller  Washington  Weld  Yuma  

Colorado Supreme Court
   ( Colorado Court of Appeals )


Highest Point – Mount Elbert ( 14,440 feet ) is located in Lake County 

Lowest Point – Arkansas River ( 3,350 feet ) is located in Prowers County


Oldest Courthouse stil in use –  Hinsdale County (1877)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Park County (1874)



State Capitol – Denver



Governor Mansion – Denver