Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Colorado » Archuleta County

Archuleta County

Archuleta County is named for J M Archuleta, who was the head of one of the old Spanish families of New Mexico and for Antonio D Archuleta, who was the Senator from Conejos County at the time.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hinsdale County and Mineral County

E – Conejos County

S – Rio Arriba County, New Mexico and San Juan County, New Mexico

W – La Plata County


Created:   April 14, 1885                         Map of Colorado highlighting Archuleta County

County Seat:

Pagosa Springs  1885 – present


County Courthouse – Pagosa Springs


Location:  449 San Juan Street / Main Street

Built:  1928 – 1929

Style:  Federalist

Architect:  Eugene G Groves of Denver

Contractor:  Martin J Wicklem


Description: The building faces north and  is a two story brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located in the center of Pagosa Springs. The building is a light yellow colored stucco. The east section of the building is two stories and the newer west section is one story. The east section has arched windows and a recessed central entrance on the north side. The roof line is flat. In the building is the original bank vault from the days that it housed the First National Bank. The building houses the County District Court and County Court of the 7th Judicial District.The courthouse is temporially closed.


Note:  The courthouse utilizes a geothermal well behind the building. The bid of Martin J Wicklem was accepted at $28,263 on April 6, 1928 for conversion of the First National Bank building..


Note:  The court is now housed at the Cascade Plaza Courthouse at 16 Eaton Drive and Village Drive as the old courthhouse is ckosed for repairs,


See:   The 6th Judicial District includes La Plata County and San Juan County.


History:  The county was created in 1885 and Pagosa Springs was selected as the county seat. The commissioners met in different places until 1886, when they rented space from Devereux. In July of that year, a building was purchased from C D Scase for $310. The building was moved to San Juan Street and became the first courthouse. The second courthouse was built by A H Sanders on San Juan Street in 1893. The courthouse was damaged by fire in 1895 and later repaired. C S Triplett erected a temporary building at a cost of $240 to house the county clerk and treasurer. In 1900 the county rented a building built in 1895 by Frank Blake for business use. In 1927, the county purchased the old First National Bank for $5,000 converting it in 1928 to 1929 for use as the third courthouse. The fourth and present courthouse is located at Cascade Plaza pending a decision on the use of the now closed third courthouse.



County Courthouse – Pagosa Springs 













Commissioner Minutes 1928









Pagosa Springs





Photos taken 2011