Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Colorado » Conejos County

Conejos County

Conejos County is named for the cottontail rabbits in the area as the Spanish word “conejos” means “rabbits”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Rio Grande County and  Alamosa County

E – Costilla County

S – Taos County, New Mexico and Rio Arriiba County, New Mexico

W – Archuleta County


Created:  November 1, 1861                  Map of Colorado highlighting Conejos County

County Seat:

Guadalupe  1861 – 1863

Conejos      1863 – present


County Courthouse – Conejos


Location:  6683 County Road 13 / County Road G6

Built:  1980 – 1981

Style:  Spanish Pueblo style

Architect:  H E Whitlock Inc.

Contractor:  H E Whitlock Inc.


Description: The building faces east and is a one story stone and concrete structure. The east front has a projecting center section with red colored flagstone. The recessed main building is a light yellow color. The roof line is flat. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 12th Judicial District.


See:  The 12th Judicial District includes Alamosa County, Conejos County, Costilla CountyMineral County, Rio Grande County and Saguache County.


Note:  In 1861, Gudaloupe County ( Conejo County ) was one of the 17 original counties.


History:  The county was created as Guadalupe County in 1861 and Guadalupe was designated as the county seat. The county name was changed to Conejos County and the county seat was moved to Conejos in 1863. The first courthouse was a two story stone structure designed by J I Howard and built by William Jenkins in 1890 to 1891. The courthouse burned in 1980. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1980 to 1981.



County Courthouse – Conejos















Picture 1891 County Courthouse



Our Lady of Guadalupe Church (1854)



Photos taken 2011