Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oregon


Oregon became the 33rd state on February 14, 1859. Salem is the state capital. There are currently 36 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Baker  Benton  Clackamas  Clatsop Columbia 
Coos  Crook  Curry Deschutes Douglas 
Gilliam Grant  Harney Hood River  Jackson
Jefferson Josephine Klamath  Lake Lane 
Lincoln Linn  Malheur  Marion Morrow
Multnomah Polk Sherman Tillamook Umatilla 
Union  Wallowa Wasco Washington Wheeler


Oregon Supreme Court


Highest Point – Mount Hood ( 11,240 feet ) is located in Clackamas County and Hood River County.

Lowest Point  – Pacific Ocean (sea level ) 


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Benton County (1896-1897)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Jackson County (1883-1884)


State Capitol – Salem


Governor Mansion – Salem