Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oregon » Polk County

Polk County

Polk County is named for James Knox Polk, who was the eleventh President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Yamhill County

E – Marion County

S – Linn County and Benton County

W – Lincoln County and Tillamook County


Created:  December 22, 1845                Map of Oregon highlighting Polk County

County Seat: 

Cynthian  1845 – 1851

Dallas      1851 – present


County Courthouse – Dallas


Location:  850 Main Street / SE Court Street

Built:  1898 – 1899

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  Delod D Neer of Portland

Contractor:  Delod D Neer of Portland


Description:  The building  faces west and is is a two story sandstone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Dallas. The building has a projecting center section with arched entrances on the north and south sides. On the north is a high square clock tower with red colored sloped roof. There is a wide eave along the sloped red colored roof. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 12th Judicial District. On the east side is a three story annex constructed in 1965 to 1966. The contractor was Robert D Morrow. The building was expanded in 1989.


See:  The architect Delos D Neer of Portland also designed courthouses in Benton County and Polk County.


History:  The county was created in 1845 and Cynthian was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in Cynthian in 1851. The county seat was moved to Dallas in 1851 and the first courthouse was dismanteled. The second courthouse was built in Dallas in 1852 which was destroyed by fire in 1898. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1898 to 1900.



County Courthouse – Dallas





















Photos taken 2012 and 2016