Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oregon » Yamhill County

Yamhill County

Yamhill County is named for the Yamhill members of the Kalapuya Native American tribe who lived along the Yamhill River in the western Willamette Valley.  


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Tillamook County and Washington County 

E – Multnomah County and Marion County

S – Polk County

W – Tillamook County


Created:  July 5, 1843                            Map of Oregon highlighting Yamhill County

County Seat: 

LaFayette   1847 – 1889

McMinville  1889 – present


County Courthouse – McMinnville 


Location:  535 Northeast 5th Street / NE Evans Street

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Roald, Schmeer & Harrington of Portland

Contractor:  Guhr & Sons


Description:  The building  faces south and is a two story brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the city center. The south front has a central entrance with concrete canopy extending from the building. Above on the second story are windows with yellow colored panels above and below. The roof line is flat. On the south side is the two story white colored wood frame house containing the Board of Commissioners office and the old Post Office constructed in 1935 to 1937, which now serves as the Clerk’s Office. 


Note:  The first courthouse was designed by Medoren Crawford and built by Rush Mendenhalll in Lafayette in 1859 to 1860 at a cost of $14,875. The second courthouse was designed and built by Pauley Jail Building and Manufacturing Company in McMinville in 1888 at a cost of $62,000.



County Courthouse













Board of Commissioners





County Clerk

Photos taken 2012 and 2016