Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oregon » Baker County

Baker County

Baker County is named for Edward Baker, who was one of Oregon’s first Senators and was killed at the Battle of Balls Bluff in 1861.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Union County and Wallowa County

E – Adams County, Idaho and Washington County, Idaho

S – Malheur County and Grant County

W – Grant County


Created:  September 22, 1862               Map of Oregon highlighting Baker County

County Seat: 

Baker City  1862 – present


County Courthouse – Baker City


Location: 1995 3rd Street / Court Avenue

Built:  1908 – 1909

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Delos D Neer of Portland

Contractor:  T R Yerger


Description:  The building  faces east and is a three story volcanic rock and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in center of Baker City and is “T” shaped. The east front has arched windows on the second story and has steps on the north and south leading up to arched entrances. On the south side is a high square clock tower. The roof is sloped. The building houses the County Circuit of the 8th Judicial District. The architect was Delos D Neer of Portland and the contractor was T R Yerger. In 2011 the building was restored. The contractor was Sid Johnson & Company of Baker City. On the south side is an addition.


See:  The architect Delos D Neer of Portland also designed courthouses in Benton County and Polk County.


History:  The county was created in 1862 and Auburn was designated as the county seat. The county seat was moved to Baker City in 1868 and the first courthouse was a two story wood structure built in 1969. The jail burned in 1885 with loss of lives and the courthouse was torn down. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1885. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1908 to 1909 at a cost of $59,500



County Courthouse – Baker City















Photos taken 2012