Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Idaho » Washington County

Washington County

Washington County is named for George Washington, who was the first President of the United States from 1789 to 1797.

 

Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Adams County

E – Adams County and Gem County

S – Payette County

W – Malheur County, Oregon and Baker County, Oregon

 

Created:  February 20, 1879                                                      Map of Idaho highlighting Washington County

County Seat: 

Weiser  1879 – present

 

County Courthouse –  Weiser 

 

Location:  256 East Court Street / 3rd Street

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Art Dec

Architect:  Tourtellotte & Hummel of Boise

Contractor:  J F Ulmer

 

Description:  The building  faces south and is a two story gray colored stone, glass  and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Weiser. The building has a raised basement. The entrance is at the center of the south front and is recessed. Above are three large windows with narrow windows on each side of the projecting center section. The other windows are separated by wide dividers. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County District Court and County Magistrate Court of the 3rd Judicial District. The building was constructed by the Work Projects Administration. 

 

See:  The architect, Tourtellotte & Hummel of Boise also designed courthouses in Gem County and  Owyhee County

 

See:  National Register of Historic Places – Washington County Courthouse

 

See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Adams CountyCanyon CountyGem CountyOwyhee County and Payette County.

 

History:  The county was created in 1879 and Weiser was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises. The first courthouse was a two story structure designed by James King of Boise and built in 1888. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1938. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1939 to 1940.

 

 

County Courthouse – Weiser

 

 

 

 

Photos taken 2009