Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oregon » Benton County

Benton County

Benton County is named for Thomas Hart Benton, who was a United States Senator and who advocated for the control of the Oregon Country by the United States.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Polk County

E – Linn County

S – Lane County 

W – Lincoln County


Created:  December 23, 1847                Map of Oregon highlighting Benton County

County Seat: 

Corvallis  1851 – present


County Courthouse – Corvallis


Location:  120 NW 4th Street / NW Monroe Avenue

Built:  1888 – 1889

Style:  High Victorian Italianate

Architect:  Delos D Neer of Portland

Contractor:  Thomas Mann and John Robertson of Portland


Description:  The building  faces east and is a three story white colored stuccoed brick and native stone structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Corvallis..The east front has a one story portico with arched entrance on the first story. Behind rises a five story square clock tower with a statue of Justice,  sloped red colored roof and with a clock at the top. The foundation is rusticated ashlar gray colored granite. The building has a hipped red colored roof. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building is the oldest courthouse in Oregon which is still used as a courthouse. The building was renovated in 1976.


Note:  Nineteen large stones were procured in San Francisco and the sand for the exterior stucco and interior plastering was shipped from Lewisville, Washington. The Howard tower clock was installed after the building was finished. Local labor and materials were used. The building is the oldest courthouse in Oregon which is still used as a courthouse.


See:  The architect Delos D Neer of Portland also designed courthouses in Baker County and Polk County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Benton County Courthouse


History:  The county was created in 1847 and Corvallis ( Marysville ) was selected as the county seat in 1851. The first courthouse was designed by R R Rounds and John Pike and built by George Wrenn in 1854 to 1855 at a cost of $6,197. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1888 to 1889 at a cost of $70,000.



County Courthouse – Corvallis







































Photos taken 2012 and 2015