Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Colorado » Custer County

Custer County

Custer County is named for George Armstrong Custer, who was a United States colonel defeated and killed at the Battle of Little Bighorn.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Fremont County

E – Pueblo County

S – Huerfano County

W – Saguache County


Created:  March 9, 1877                         Map of Colorado highlighting Custer County

County Seat:

Westcliffe  1877 – present


County Courthouse – Westcliffe


Location:  205 6th Street South / Edwards Avenue

Built:  1929 – 1939

Style:   Romanesque

Architect:  John James Huddart of Denver

Contractor:  The Welton Builders


Description: The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds on the east side of the center of Westcliffe. The center section of west front projects from the main building and has a stone trimmed recessed entrance on the first story, a double arched window on the second story and two ornamental urns at the top. The windows on the second story are arched. The roof line is flat. In the interior the courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court and County Court of the 11th Judicial District. 


See:  The architect, John J Huddart of Denver, Colorado, designed courthouses in Colorado in Adams County, Arapahoe County, Cheyenne CountyElbert County, Logan County, Saguache County, Summit County and Washington County and in Nebraska in Deuel County and Garden County.


See:  The 11th Judicial District includes Chaffeee CountyFremont County and Park County.


History:  The county was created in 1877 and Ula was selected as the county seat. In 1878 the county seat was moved to Rosita and a one story log cabin was erected as the first courthouse. In 1886 the county seat was moved to Silver Cliff. The second courthouse was a two story frame structure built by Hiram Welker in 1889. The building was enlarged by Charles E Brewer in 1894. In 1928 the county seat was moved to Westcliffe. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1929 to 1930.



County Courthouse – Westcliffe 









Photos taken 2011