Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Colorado » Washington County

Washington County

Washington County is named for President George Washington, the first President of the United States.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Logan County

E – Yuma County

S – Kit Carson County and Lincoln County

W – Arapahoe CountyAdams County and Morgan County 

Created:  February 8, 1887                    Map of Colorado highlighting Washington County

County Seat:

Akron  1887 – present


County Courthouse – Akron


Location:  115 Ash Avenue / East 2nd Street

Built:  1909 – 1910

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:   John James Huddart of Denver

Contractor:  Smith and McCarthy


Description: The building faces west and is a two story red colored  brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Akron. The building has a raised basement. At the west front is a red colored brick portico with white colored balustrade balcony above. On the roof are dormer windows. At the center of the roof is a small square white colored cupola with red colored roof. The roof is hipped with a dormer on each side. The former courtroom is located on the second story.. A jail addition was added. On the east side is the rectangular shaped one story red colored brick Courthouse Annex.


See:  The architect, John J Huddart of Denver, Colorado, designed courthouses in Colorado in Adams County, Arapahoe County, Cheyenne County, Custer County, Elbert County, Logan County, Saguache County and Summit County and in Nebraska in Deuel County and Garden County.


County Justice Center – Akron


Location:  26861 Highway 34 / County Road DD

Built:  2000 – 2001

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Durrant Architect, Inc.

Contractor:  Unknown


Description: The building faces south and is a one story concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds on the east side of Akron along highway 34. The south front has two concrete porticoes rising above the roof line. The east portico is the entrance to the County Court and west portico is the entrance to the Sheriff. The roof line is flat. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 13th Judicial District.


See:   The 13th Judicial District includes Kit Carson CountyLogan CountyMorgan CountyPhillips CountySedgwick County and Yuma County.


History:  The county was created in 1887 and Akron was selected as the county seat. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1909 to 1910 at a cost of $65,000. The County Justice Center was constructed in 2000 to 2001.



County Courthouse – Akron

















County Courthouse Annex – Akron



Photos taken 2007 and 2016