Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Colorado » Cheyenne County

Cheyenne County

Cheyenne County is named for the Cheyenne Native American tribe which resided in the region.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Kit Carson County 

E – Wallace County, Kansas and Greeley County, Kansas

S – Kiowa County

W – Lincoln County


Created:  March 25, 1889                       Map of Colorado highlighting Cheyenne County

County Seat:

Cheyenne Wells  1889 – present


County Courthouse – Cheyenne Wells


Location:  51 South 1st Street West / West 1st Street South

Built:  1908 – 1909

Style:  Georgian Revival

Architect:  John James Huddart of Denver

Contractor:  S L Work of Denver


Description: The building faces south and is a two story red colored brickand concrete  structure.  The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Cheyenne Wells. The building has a raised basement. The south front of the building has a square arch at the first story entrance. A wide white colored band runs below the eaves. Over the entrance is a dormer at the roof level. All of the dormers have two windows and are faced with white metal which is impressed with a deltoid leaf pattern. The dormer on the front facade has a gabled roof dormer with a wreath in the gable. The other three dormers have hipped roofs. The roof is hipped. In the interior, the vestibule in the main entryway has a white colored hexagon mosaic tile floor with patterns in terra cotta, gray-green and dark green tiles. The doorway from the vestibule to the central hall appears to repeat the design of the original outside doorway. The trims and finish are birch. The flooring of the corridors of first and second stories and the stairs and landings are of oak. On the second story is the court room with steel ceiling of massive pattern and beautifully decorated in gilt. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 15th Judicial District.  


See:  The architect, John James Huddart of Denver, Colorado, designed courthouses in Colorado in Adams County, Arapahoe CountyCuster County, Elbert County, Logan County, Saguache County, Summit County and Washington County and in Nebraska in Deuel County and Garden County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Cheyenne County Courthouse


See:  The 15th Judicial District includes Baca County, Kiowa County and Prowers County.


History:  The county was created in 1889 and Cheyenne Wells was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1908 to 1909 at a cost of $25,890.



County Courthouse – Cheyenne Wells



Photos taken 2006