Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Colorado » Kiowa County

Kiowa County

Kiowa County is named for the Kiowa Native American tribe.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lincoln County and Cheyenne County

E – Greeley County, Kansas

S – Prowers CountyBent County and Otero County

W – Crowley County and Lincoln County


Created:  April 11, 1889                          Map of Colorado highlighting Kiowa County

County Seat:

Sheridan Lake  1889 – 1901

Eads                 1901 – present


County Courthouse – Eads


Location:  1305 South Goff Street / East 14th Street

Built:  1955 – 1956

Style:  Modern

Architect:  William E Ross and C Francis Pillsbury of Denver

Contractor:  Maher Construction Company of Aurora


Description: The building faces west and is a one story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Eads. Glass windows run horizontally across the west front on the upper and lower levels. The entrance located in the center, is recessed with a high rectangular frame and with dark red colored brick facing. The building houses the County District Court and County Court of the 15th Judicial District. 


See:  The architect, C Francis Pillsbury of Denver also designed the courthouse in Eagle CountyLa Plata CountyMontezuma County and Rio Blanco County.


See:  The 15th Judicial District includes Baca County, Cheyenne County and Prowers County.


History:  The county was created in 1889 and Sheridan Lake was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1890 and burned in 1900. The county seat was moved to Eads in 1901. The second courthouse was a two story red colored brick structure designed by Roe & Gill and built by Lyon & Axtell in 1904. The courthouse was demolished when the third and present courthouse was constructed in 1955 to 1956.



County Courthouse – Eads



Photos taken 2006