Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Colorado » Lincoln County

Lincoln County

Lincoln County is named for President Abraham Lincoln ( 1809 – 1865 ), the 16th President of the United States.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Washington County

E – Kit Carson CountyCheyenne County and Kiowa County 

S – Kiowa County and Crowley County

W – El Paso County and Elbert County


Created:  April 11, 1889                          Map of Colorado highlighting Lincoln County

County Seat:

Hugo  1889 – present


County Courthouse – Hugo


Location:  103 3rd Avenue / 1st Street

Built:  1991 – 1992

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Daniel W Figert

Contractor:  H W Houston Construction Company


Description: The building faces east and is a one story reddish colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on spacious landscaped grounds to the south of the center of Hugo. At the east central entrance is the stone portico and two light standards from the old 1923 courthouse. The building has a red colored sloped tile roof. The building houses the County District Court and County Court of the 18th Judicial District. Along the south side is the Sheriff’s Building.


See:  The 18th Judicial District includes Arapahoe CountyDouglas County and  Elbert County.


History:  The county was created in 1889 and Hugo was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises. The first courthouse was a former two story wood frame school built in 1906. The second courthouse was a two story structure designed by John James Huddart and constructed in 1923. The courthouse was demolished when the third and present courthouse was constructed in 1991 to 1992.



County Courthouse – Hugo













Picture 1923 County Courthouse





Picture 1906 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2011