Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Colorado » Elbert County

Elbert County

Elbert County is named for Samuel Hitt Elbert, who was the sixth Governor of the Territory of Colorado.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Arapahoe County

E – Lincoln County

S – Lincoln County and El Paso County 

W – Douglas County


Created:  February 2, 1874                    Map of Colorado highlighting Elbert County

County Seat:

Kiowa  1874 – present


Old County Courthouse – Kiowa


Location:  215 Comanche Street / Pawnee Street

Built:  1912 – 1913

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  John James Huddart of Denver

Contractor:  M J Kenney of Denver


Description: The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Kiowa. The building has a raised basement and has a stone lintel above the first story entrance on the south side. A horizontal band runs below the eaves of the hipped roof. The interior contains the original wood work and high ceilings. The former courtroom is located on the second story. The building is now the County Administration Building.


See:  The architect, John J Huddart of Denver, Colorado, designed courthouses in Colorado in Adams County, Arapahoe County, Cheyenne County, Custer CountyLogan County, Saguache County, Summit County and Washington County and in Nebraska in Deuel County and Garden County.


County Courthouse – Kiowa



Location:  751 Ute Avenue / Shoshone Street

Built:  2007 – 2008

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Humphries-Poli Architects, PC of Denver

Contractor:  White Construction Group of Castle Rock


Description: The building faces east and is a one story concrete and stone  structure.  The building is located on landscaped grounds to the south of the center of Kiowa.  Along the east front there are vertical wood pillars. The windows are horizontal along the south side of the front. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County District Court and County Court of the 18th Judicial District. 


See:  The 18th Judicial District includes Arapahoe CountyDouglas County and Lincoln County.


History:  The county was created in 1874 and Kiowa was selected as the county seat. There were two courthouses built. The third courthouse was constructed in 1912 to 1913 and is still standing. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 2007 to 2008.



Old County Courthouse – Kiowa











County Courthouse – Kiowa









Photos taken 2011