Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kansas » Wallace County

Wallace County

Wallace County is named for General William H L Wallace, Commander of the second division at the Battle of Shiloh where he died on April 10, 1863.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sherman County

E – Logan County

S – Wichita County and Greeley County

W – Kit Carson County, Colorado and Cheyenne County, Colorado


Created:  March 11, 1868                       Map of Kansas highlighting Wallace County

County Seat:

Pond City           1868 – 1875

Wallace              1875 – 1887

Sharon Springs  1887 – present


County Courthouse – Sharon Springs 


Location:  313 Main Street / 3rd Street

Built:  1914 – 1915

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  William Earl Hulse & Company of Hutchison

Contractor:  William Foley


Description: The building faces east and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Sharon Springs. The building has a partially raised basement. The east front has two large columns supporting a portico at the top of the second story. On the east side are large steps ascending to the entrance. There are two large columns at the south entrance. The roof is hipped. In the interior, the County District Court courtroom is located on the north side of the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 15th Judicial District. 


Note:  This courthouse is similar to the courthouse in Wichita County as the architect and contractor were the same for both courthouses. Also, the courthouse in Pawnee County was designed and constructed by them.


Note: The architect, William Earl Hulse & Company of Hutchison, designed courthouses in Barton County, Brown County, Kiowa County, Osage County, Pawnee County, Reno County and Wichita County.


See:  The 15th Judicial District includes Cheyenne CountyLogan CountyRawlins CountySheridan CountySherman County and Thomas County.


History:  The county was created in 1868 and Pond City was selected as the county seat. The county was attached to Ellis County for judicial purposes. In 1875, the county seat was moved to Wallace and the county was attached to Trego County for judicial purposes. The county seat was moved to Sharon Springs in 1887 and the first courthouse was built in 1887, The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1914 to 1915.


Note:  The highest point in Kansas is Mount Sunflower at 4,039 feet ( 1231 meters ) which is located in the county. 



County Courthouse – Sharon Springs













County District Court courtroom













Photos taken 2007 and 2022