Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kansas » Logan County

Logan County

Logan County is named for John Alexander Logan ( 1826-1886 ), who was a Union general during the Civil War and later a United States Senator from Illinois.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sherman County and Thomas County

E – Gove County

S – Scott County and Wichita County

W – Wallace County


Created:  February 24, 1887                  Map of Kansas highlighting Logan County

County Seat:

Russell Springs  1880 – 1963

Oakley                1963 – present


Old County Courthouse – Russell Springs


Location:  515 Hilts Avenue / Vine Street

Built:  1887 – 1888

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  Alfred Meyer

Contractor:  George D Kerns


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Russell Springs. The building is a “T” shape with a stone wing on the west side. The east front has a slightly projecting center section with glass entrance on the first story and three vertical windows on the second story and above is a steep roof with dormer. The base of the building is rough-cut stone and the first story. The upper story is red colored brick. The roof is hipped. A two story addition was built on the west side in 1930’s. The building is now a museum.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Old Logan County Courthouse

County Courthouse – Oakley



Location:  710 West 2nd Street / Cherry Avenue

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Kiene & Bradley of Topeka

Contractor:  Busboon & Rauh


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Oakley. The main entrance is located at the center of south side and has a concrete extension over the entrance and rises above the main building. A wide band runs below the flat roof line. In the interior, red colored brick is used in the walls. The County District Court courtroom is located at the southeast corner and that section rises above the main building. The building houses the County District Court of the 15th Judicial District. 


See:  The architect, Kiene & Bradley Architects of Topeka, designed courthouses in Coffey CountyGreeley County, Jefferson County,  Morris County, Neosho County and Wilson County.


See:  The 15th Judicial District includes Cheyenne CountyRawlins CountySheridan CountySherman CountyThomas County and Wallace County.


History:  The county was created in 1887 and Russell Springs was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1887 to 1888 and is still standing. In 1963, the county seat was moved to Oakley. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1964 to 1965.



Old County Courthouse – Russell Springs








County Courthouse – Oakley

















County District Court courtroom











Photos taken 2007 and 2022