Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kansas » Coffey County

Coffey County

Coffey County is named for A M Coffey, who was a member of the Legislative Council of the Kansas Territory.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Osage County 

E – Franklin County and Anderson County

S – Wilson County

W – Greenwood County and Lyon County


Created:  August 25, 1855                     Map of Kansas highlighting Coffey County

County Seat:

Burlington  1855 – present


County Courthouse – Burlington 


Location:  110 South 6th Street / Neosho Street

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Kiene & Bradley Architects of Topeka

Contractor:  Cornelius & Associates


Description: The building faces east and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Burlington. The building is “U” shaped with a north wing and south wing joining the east wing. The east front has an overhanging center section supported by five pillars and with recessed entrance and glass panel wall. On the south side of the front is a modern statue of Justice. The entrance is recessed with glass panels. There is an entrance at the center of the west side. The roof line is flat. In the interior, a corridors runs along the glass panel wall on the east side of the building. The County District Court courtroom is located along the south side of the building and is named as the Phillip M Fromme District Court.


See:  The architect, Kiene & Bradley Architects of Topeka, designed courthouses in Greeley County, Jefferson County, Logan County, Morris County, Neosho County and Wilson County.


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Anderson County, Franklin County and Osage County.


History:  The county was created in 1855 and Le Roy was selected as the county seat. In 1866 the county seat was moved to Burlington and the first courthouse was erected. In 1901 the second courthouse was designed by J C Holland and constructed by Betts & Company. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1963 to 1964.



County Courthouse – Burlington


























County District Court courtroom















Stone from 1901 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2009 and 2022