Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Colorado » Delta County

Delta County

Delta County is named for the city of Delta which is the county seat.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Mesa County 

E – Gunnison County

S – Montrose County

W – Mesa County


Created:  February 11, 1883                   Map of Colorado highlighting Delta County

County Seat:

Delta  1883 – present


County Courthouse – Delta


Location:  501 Palmer Street / West 5th Street

Built:  1957 – 1958

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Eugene D Sternberg of Denver

Contractor:  McGechie Construction Company, Inc. of Cortez


Description: The building faces northeast and is a two story brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Delta. The building forms a “T” on the northeast side and on the west side. The northeast front has a long canopy extending from the central entrance. There is polished stone facing on the south side of the glass entrance and between the horizontal windows. The roof of the east section is sloped. The rest of the building is dark red colored brick. On the second story of the northeast side are the County District Court courtroom and the Magistrate Court courtroom and on the second story of the west side is the County Court courtroom. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 7th Judicial District. 


See:   The 7th Judicial District includes Gunnison CountyHinsdale County, Montrose County, Ouray County and San Miguel County.


History:  The county was created in 1883 and Delta was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1896. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1957 to 1958.



County Courthouse – Delta



















Photos taken 2011