Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Colorado » Jefferson County

Jefferson County

Jefferson County is named for Thomas Jefferson, who was President of the United States from 1801 to 1809.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Boulder County and Broomfield County

E – Adams County, Denver CountyArapahoe County and Douglas County

S – Park County

W – Park CountyClear Creek County and Gilpin County


Created:  November 1, 1861                  Map of Colorado highlighting Jefferson County

County Seat:

Golden  1861 – present


County Courthouse – Golden


Location:  100 Jefferson County Road / 6th Avenue Freeway

Built:  1991 – 1993

Style:  Modern

Architect:  C W Fentress, J H Bradburn and Associates, PC

Contractor:   PCL Construction Services, Inc.


Description: The building faces east and is a five story brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on spacious grounds to the south of the center of Golden. The building is an “X” shape with four curved wings radiating from the center. The central tower has glass windows on east and west sides and has an atrium rising to a glass skylight. The semi-circular building on the north houses the courts and the semi-circular building on the south houses the administration. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 1st Judicial District.  


Note:  Golden City became the capital of the federally recognized Colorado Territory in 1862, and the territorial legislature met from 1862 to 1867 in the building that is now home to the Old Capitol Grill restaurant at 1122 Washington Avenue and 12th Street. By the end of the 1860s, Golden City had been elected the seat of Jefferson County and the capital of the provisional Jefferson Territory. Locals were outraged when neighboring Denver snagged the honor of becoming capital of the newly formed state in 1876.


Note:  In 1861, Jefferson County was one of the 17 original counties.


See:  The 1st Judicial District includes Gilpin County.


History:  The county was created in 1861 and Golden City was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises until the first courthouse a brick Victorian structure was designed by W H J Nicholls and constructed by Robert Millikin in 1877. The courthouse shared the hill at 1500 Washington Avenue at 15th Street with the Colorado School of Mines campus. The second courthouse was designed by Henry Koch and constructed in 1953 at 17th Street and Arapahoe Street. The Hall of Justice was a boxy five story beige colored brick structure constructed in 1965 to 1966 at 18th Street and Arapahoe Street. The second courthouse along with the Hall of Justice were demolished in 2011. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1991 to 1993.



County Courthouse – Golden



















Statue Thpmas Jefferson





Colorado School of Mines Campus – Golden



Photos taken 2011