Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Colorado » Jackson County

Jackson County

Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, who was the 7th President of the United States from 1829 to 1837.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Carbon County, Wyoming and Albany County, Wyoming

E – Larimer County

S – Grand County

W – Routt County


Created:  May 5, 1909                            Map of Colorado highlighting Jackson County

County Seat:

Walden  1909 – present


County Courthouse – Walden


Location:  396 Lafever Street / 4th Street

Built:  1912 – 1913

Style:   Classical Revival

Architect:  William Norman Bowman of Denver

Contractor:  J H Searles


Description: The building faces east and  is a two story buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Walden. The east front has a large portico supported by four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. Along the flat roof line is a balustrade. There is stone rim at the corners. The interior has wood floors and high ceilings. The County District Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court and County Court of the 8th Judicial District.  


Note:  The stone for construction of the courthouse was quarried locally.


See:  The architect, William N Bowman of Denver, Colorado, designed courthouses in Colorado in Moffat County, Montrose County and Weld County and in Nebraska in Scotts Bluff County.


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Larimer County.


History:  The county was created in 1909 and Walden was selected as the county seat. The county rented premises until the first and present courthouse was constructed in 1912 to 1913.



County Courthouse –  Walden

















County District Court and County Court courtroom















Photos taken 2002, 2011 and 2023