Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arizona » Pima County

Pima County


Pima County is named for the Pima Native American  people called Akimel O’odam ( river people ) who lived in the area.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Maricopa County and Pinal County

E – Graham CountyCochise County and Santa Cruz County

S – Santa Cruz County and Mexico

W – Mexico and Yuma County


Created:  November 8, 1864                  Map of Arizona highlighting Pima County

County Seat:        

Tucson  1864 – present


Former County Courthouse – Tucson


Location:  115 North Church Avenue / West Alameda Street

Built:  1929 – 1930

Style:  Spanish Colonial Revival and Moorish

Architect:  Roy W Place

Contractor:  Herbert Brown


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story pink colored stucco, brick and stone style structure. The building forms a “U” shape with a series of one story arches with plaza behind on the east front. The central entrance is framed with decorative stone rising to the third story.  On the center of the roof is a large octagonal base with a large cement dome covered by ceramic tiles.. On the west side is an open plaza on the west side extending to the City Hall.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Pima County Courthouse


County Courthouse – Tucson



Location:  110 West Congress Street / North Church Avenue

Built:  1973 – 1975

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Terry Atkinson, Place & Place, Gordon M Luepke, Ivan A Sarkiss, and Finigal & Dombrowski

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces south and is a nine story concrete, glass and steel structure. Along the south and east sides of the first story is a long portico supported by arched columns. Vertical glass panels are divided by concrete dividers with no windows at the stone faced corners.  The building is the Pima County Superior Courts Building and is located on the south side of the courthouse. The Pima County Government Center extends west along Congress Street including the eleven story County Administration Building and the six story County Health & Welfare Building.


See:  Division II Tuscon includes Cochise County, Gila CountyGraham CountyGreenlee County, Pima County, Pinal County and Santa Cruz County


History:  The county was created in 1864 and Tucson was selected as the county seat. In 1867, Tucson became the territorial capital of Arizona. The territorial business was conducted from a pair of rented rooms. The first courthouse had a flat-fronted adobe structure with false gable and a stone foundation and was built in 1868 on land at the corner of Court Street and Ott Street. The second courthouse was a large oblong two story brick structure built in 1881 on the northwest corner of Church Street and Pennington Street and had a stone foundation. The architect and contractor was John Harlow. Arizona was admitted as a state on February 14, 1912. The courthouse was torn down in 1928 and the third courthouse was constructed in 1929 to 1930 and is still standing. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1973 to 1974.



Former County Courthouse – Tuscon















County Courthouse – Tuscon












Photos taken 2008