Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Polk County

Polk County

Polk County is named for James Knox Polk, who was the eleventh President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Floyd County and Bartow County

E – Paulding County

S – Haralson County

W – Cleburne County, Alabama and Cherokee CountyAlabama 


Created:  December 20, 1851                Map of Georgia highlighting Polk County

County Seat: 

Cedartown  1851 – present


County Courthouse – Cedartown 


Location:  100 Prior Street / North College Street

Built:  1951 – 1952

Style:  Modern Stripped Classical

Architect:  William J J Chase & Associates

Contractor:  Bailey-Brazell Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Cedartown. The center section is the highest part of the building with lower east and west wings. The windows are vertical with panels between. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the hallways and stair wells have marble wainscoting. The large County Superior Court courtroom is located on the east side of the second story. There is a small courtroom on the north side of the first story. The building houses the County Superior Court and County Probate Court of the 7th Judicial District. The building was originally constructed as the Sheriff’s Office and Jail.


See:  The architect, William J J Chase also designed courthouses in Carroll CountyCoffee County, Cook CountyMitchell CountyOconee CountyRockdale CountySeminole CountyTroup County and Ware County.


County Courthouse Annex – Cedartown 



Location:  50 Prior Street / North Main Street

Built:  1935 – 1936

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Otis Clay Poundston

Contractor:  Works Progress Administration


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located in the center of Cedartown and served as the City Hall and Courthouse. The south front has a high portico supported by four large white colored columns with pediment at the roof line. The roof is hipped. In the interior, the large County Juvenile Court courtroom is located on the first story. The County Magistrate Court courtroom is located on the third story. The building houses the County Juvenile Court and County Magistrate Court of the 7th Judicial District. The building was renovated in 1984 and 1985. The architect for the renovation was Williams, Sweitzer & Barnum, Inc. and the contractor was Beneficial Brothers Inc.

 The 7th Judicial District includes Barstow CountyCatoosa CountyChattooga CountyCobb CountyDade CountyDouglas CountyFloyd CountyGordon CountyHaralson CountyMurray CountyPaulding County, Walker County and Whitfield County.


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Cedartown was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1852 and was burned by Union forces in 1864. The second courthouse was built in 1867 and burned in 1887. The third courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by William Parkins and built in 1889 to 1891. The fourth courthouse was the old City Hall constructed in 1935 to 1936 and which is now used as the County Courthouse Annex. The fifth and present and present courthouse was constructed in 1951 to 1952.



County Courthouse – Cedartown















County Superior Court courtroom













Small courtroom









County Courthouse Annex – Cedartown









County Juvenile Court courtroom











Photos taken 2010 2020 and 2023