Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Alabama » Cherokee County

Cherokee County


Cherokee County is named for the Cherokee Native American people.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – DeKalb County

E – Chattooga County, Georgia, Floyd County, Georgia and Polk County, Georgia

S – Cleburne County and Calhoun County

W – Etowah County


Created:  January 9, 1836                                                          Map of Alabama highlighting Cherokee County

County Seat:

Cedar Bluff  1836 – 1844

Centre         1844 – present


County Courthouse – Centre


Location:  100 Main Street / Cedar Bluff Road

Built:  1936 – 1937

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Paul W Hofferbert

Contractor:  Duke Stickney Company


Description:  The building faces south and  is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Centre. The south front has a small projecting section at the recessed entrance on the first story. Above the second story windows is a clock. The east and west wings are lower. On the north side is an addition. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located at the center of the second story. The courtroom has wood paneling. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 9th Judicial Circuit and the County District Court and County Probate Court. The architect was Paul W Hofferbert and the contractor was Duke Stickney Company. On the north side of the building is the one story County Administration Building which houses the Probate Court.


New County Courthouse – Centre


Location:  1220 East Main Street / Cedar Bluff Road

Built:  2024 – 2026

Style:  Modern

Architect:  McKee & Associates Architects

Contractor:  Volkers Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds to the east of the center of Centre. The location was formerly the East Centre Baptist Church. 


See:  The 9th Judicial Circuit includes DeKalb County.


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Cedar Bluff was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was located in Cedar Bluff. The county seat was moved to Centre in 1844 and the second courthouse was erected. The courthouse burned in 1882. The third courthouse was erected and burned in 1895. The fourth courthouse was constructed by S C House & Wolsongrat in 1896. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1936 to 1937,



County Courthouse – Centre















County Circuit Court courtroom















County Administration Building – Centre





Photos taken 2010 and 2023