Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Florida » Leon County

Leon County

Leon County is named for Ponce de Leon, who was the Spanish discovered of Florida.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Grady County, Georgia and Thomas County, Georgia

E – Jefferson County 

S – Wakulla County

W – Liberty County and Gadsden County


Created:  December 29, 1824                Map of Florida highlighting Leon County

County Seat:

Tallahassee  1824 – present


County Courthouse – Tallahassee 


Location:  301 South Monroe Street / East Jefferson Street

Built:  1989 – 1990

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Barrett Daffin & Carlan, Inc.

Contractor:  Gilbane-Culpepper


Description: The building faces west and is a four story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Tallahassee across from the State Capitol. The central entrance on the west side has a rounded section with high square arches rising three stories with blue colored glass panels on the fourth story. The southwest section projects westwards. The roof line is flat. In the interior is a rotunda rising to a domed roof. The halls runs along the exterior glass walls. There are 28 courtrooms. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 2nd Judicial Circuit and County Court. The architect was Barrett Daffin & Carlan, Inc. and the contractor was Gilbane-Culpepper.


County Courthouse Annex– Tallahassee 



Location:  1920 Thomasville Road / Collins Drive

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description: The building faces southeast and is a two story concrete and glass structure. The rectangular shaped building is located to the north of the center of Tallahassee. The southeast front has a recessed entrance on the first story and rises to a peak above the flat roof line. In the interior a long hall runs along the northeast side with two County Circuit Court courtrooms along the southwest side. The building is named as the Judge Charles A Francis  Building.


See:  The 2nd Judicial Circuit includes Franklin County, Gadsden CountyJefferson County, Liberty County and Wakulla County.


See:  The county is located in the First Judicial District of the Court of Appeal – First Judicial District located in Tallahassee.


History:  The county was created in 1824 and Tallahassee was selected as the county seat. The first county offices were housed in The Leon Academy, Jackson Masonic Hall and the City Hall. The first courthouse was built by John W Levinus in Tallahassee in 1832 to 1822 on Park Avenue. The courthouse burned in 1879. The second courthouse was a Victorian style structure designed by Bruce & Morgan and constructed by D J Oxford in 1880 to 1882 on the present site. The courthouse was enlarged in 1924. The architect was H J Klutho and the contractor was O P Woodcock. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1989 to 1990.


See:  Florida Supreme Court and Court of Appeal are located in Tallahassee.



County Courthouse – Tallahassee
























County Circuit Court courtroom













County Circuit Court courtroom













Small courtroom







Picture County Courthouse 1881 – remodeled 1924



County Courthouse Annex – Tallahassee





County Circuit Court courtroom











County Circuit Court courtroom









Photos taken 2009, 2015 and 2023