Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Bleckley County

Bleckley County

Bleckley County is named for Logan Bleckley, who was a Georgia Supreme Court chief justice.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Twiggs County

E – Laurens County

S – Dodge County

W – Pulaski County and Houston County


Created:  October 2, 1912                      Map of Georgia highlighting Bleckley County

County Seat: 

Cochran   1912 – present


County Courthouse – Cochran  


Location:  112 North 2nd Street / Cherry Street

Built:  1914 – 1915

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Sayre & Baldwin of Anderson, South Carolina ( James J Baldwin )

Contractor:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company of Anniston, Alabama


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story brown colored brick, concrete and stone structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Cochran. The southwest front has a projecting Doric tetrastyle portico with four columns that is emphasized by the domed clock tower rising in three stages directly behind the pediment. First story windows have round arches with emphasized keystones. The second story windows are rectangular. Stone quoins are used on the entry portico as well as the corners of the building, contrasting with the deep red brick. There is stone trim on the building corners. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the rotunda is still obvious on the first floor in spite of recent alterations. The County Superior Court courtroom is located on the second story. Pilasters are decorative elements seen in the litigation section; they frame the bench which features a heavy entablature and pediment. At the southeast corner is a small courtroom. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 8th Judicial District. To the west is the Old County Jail at West Beech Street and Security Lane built between 1900 to 1915.



See: The architect, James J Baldwin also designed courthouses in Atkinson CountyBacon CountyBarrow County, Candler CountyEvans County, Lee County, Liberty County and Treutlen County, and in North Carolina in Cherokee County.


See:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company of Anniston, Alabama also constructed courthouses in Alabama in Fayette County, Jackson County and Limestone Countyin Georgia in Clarke County, Lincoln County and Walker County; and in Mississippi in Franklin County, Lawrence County, Walthall County and Webster County.


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Baldwin CountyBen Hill CountyCandler CountyCrisp CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyEmanuel CountyGreene CountyHancock CountyJasper CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyJones CountyLaurens CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyTelfair CountyToombs CountyTreutlen CountyTwiggs CountyWashington CountyWheeler CountyWilcox County and Wilkinson County 


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Bleckley County Courthouse


History:  The county was created in 1912 and Cochran was selected as the county seat. The courthouse is the first and only courthouse erected in the county.



County Courthouse – Cochran

















County Superior Courtcourtroom













County Superior Court small courtroom









Old County Jail – Cochran







Photos taken 2013 and 2024