Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Lawrence County

Lawrence County

Lawrence County is named for James Lawrence, who an American Naval officer during the War of 1812 and who said “Don’t give up the ship!”


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Copiah County and Simpson

E – Jefferson Davis County and Marion County

S – Marion County and Walthall County

W – Lincoln County


Created:  December 22, 1814                                                    Map of Mississippi highlighting Lawrence County

County Seat: 

Monticello  1814 – present


County Courthouse – Monticello 


Location:  517 East Broad Street / Jefferson Street

Built:  1911 – 1912

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Ruben Harrison Hunt of Chattanooga, Tennessee

Contractor:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company of Anniston, Alabama


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Monticello. The south front has a large porch with four large columns rising to a balcony on the third story. A wide cornice runs between the second and third stories. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the first story has a cross hall plan.  At both ends of the long hallway are the stairways with marble treads, metal side railings and wooden hand rails.  The County Circuit Court courtroom is located at the center of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 15th Judicial District, County Chancery Court and County Youth Court. The building was remodeled in 1924. The architect was Eugene McCormick. The building was renovated in 1969. The architect was Norwood and Kenney and the contractor was Polk Construction Company and an addition was built on the north side.


See:  Ruben Harrison Hunt of Chattanooga, Tennessee, the architect, also designed courthouses in Alabama in Talladega Countyin Georgia in Elbert County. in Mississippi in Chickasaw County and Leflore County and in Tennessee in Hamilton CountyHenry CountyPolk County and Warren County.


See:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company of Anniston, Alabama also constructed courthouses in Alabama in Fayette County, Jackson County and Limestone Countyin Georgia in Bleckley County, Clarke County, Lincoln County and Walker County; and in Mississippi in Franklin CountyWalthall County and Webster County.


See:  National Register opf Historic Places – Lawrence County Courthouse


See:  The 15th Judicial District includes Jefferson Davis CountyLamar County, Lawrence CountyMarion County and Pearl River County.


History:  The county was created in 1814 and Monticello was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of Wright Mitchell. In 1820, a log courthouse was built in Monticello on the site of the present courthouse. In 1857, the second courthouse was built. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1912.


County Justice Court – Monticello 



Location:  435 Brison Street / Jefferson Street

Built:  1982 – 1983

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Walter E Cooper

Contractor:  Arcon Corporation


Description:  The building faces east and is a  one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Monticello on the northwest side of the courthouse. The east and north sides have long porches. The roof is hipped. The building houses the Justice Court. 



County Courthouse – Monticello





















County Circuit Court courtroom























County Justice Court – Monticello





Photos taken 2011 and 2019