Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Copiah County

Copiah County

Copiah County is named for the Native American word meaning “panther”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hinds County

E – Simpson County

S – Lawrence County and Lincoln County

W – Jefferson County and Claiborne County 


Created:  January 23, 1823                                                        Map of Mississippi highlighting Copiah County

County Seat: 

Hazlehurst  1823 – present


County Courthouse – Hazlehurst 


Location:  121 West Frost Street / South Extension Street

Built:  1902 – 1903

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  James Riely Gordon

Contractor:  G T Hallas & Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story buff colored brick structure.  The east front has four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. On either side of the center section are semi-circular porticos with two columns an arched entrance. On the center of the roof is a wide octagonal dome with flat roof. The interior has a rotunda under the dome. The building houses the County Ciruit Court of the 22nd Judicial District. The building was altered in 1953 when a three story addition was constructed on the west side. The architect was N W Overstreet & Associates and the contractor was Dye & Mullings, Inc. The building was renovated in 1974. The architect was James C Lee & Associates of Jackson and the contractor was Huntington Lumber & Supply Company. Inc. of Hazlehurst. The building was renovated in 2008. The architect was Carl Freiler Nobles and the contractor was Huntington Lumber & Supply Company Inc. of Hazlehurst.


County Chancery Court Courthouse – Hazlehurst 



Location:  122 South Lowe Street / Downing Street

Built:  1998 – 2000

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Carl Freler Nobles Architects

Contractor:  Ritter Electric, Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story white colored concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center Hazelhurst on the west side of the courthouse. The east front has a projecting section with narrow vertical window, At the center is the entrance. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Chancery Court.


See:  The 22nd Judicial District includes Claiborne County and Jefferson County.


History:  The county was created in 1823 and Hazelhurst was selected as the county seat. The County Courthouse was constructed in 1902 to 1903. The Chancery Court Courthouse was constructed in 1998 to 2000.



County Courthouse – Hazelhurst

























County Chancery Court Courthouse – Hazelhurst







Photos taken 2011 and 2019