Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Claiborne County

Claiborne County

Claiborne County is named for William C C Claiborne, who was the first governor of Louisiana from 1812 to 1816.


Surrounding County and Parish Courthouses: 

N – Warren County

E – Hinds County and Copiah County

S – Jefferson County

W – Tensas Parish, Louisiana


Created:  January 27, 1802                                                        Map of Mississippi highlighting Claiborne County

County Seat: 

Port Gibson  1802 – present


County Courthouse – Port Gibson 


Location:  410 Market Street / Orange Street

Built:  1845 – 1846

Style:  Greek Revival and Antebellum

Architect:  William H Faulkner & George Stockdill

Contractor:  William H Faulkner & George Stockdill


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story white colored stuccoed brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Port Gibson. The east front has a projecting center section with arched entrance on the first story and rising to a pediment at the roof line. The north and south wings are lower in height. On the center of the roof is a lanterned dome on an octagonal drum with black roof. The building has a projecting pedimented pavilion with rusticated quoins and modillioned cornice. The interior of the entrance has stairs ascending on either side to the second story. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located at the center of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 22nd Judicial District, County Chancery Court, County Youth Court and County Justice Court. The building was rebuilt in 1903. The architect was Andrew J Bryan & Company and contractor was M T Lewman & Company. The building was renovated in 1951. The architect was Spain & Biggers and contractor was Jackson Engineering Company. The building was restored in 1965. The architect was Cooke-Douglas- Farr and contractor was B C Rogers Construction. The building was restored in 1975. The architect was Birchette & Montgomery and the contractor was Mid State Construction Company Inc. In 1987, the building was remodeled. The architect was S J Tuminello & Associates and the contractor was Capitol Construction.


See:  Mississippi has five functioning antebellum courthouses located in Adams CountyAmite CountyHinds County – Raymond and Monroe County.


See:  The 22nd Judicial District includes Copiah County and Jefferson County.


History:  The county was created in 1802 and Port Gibson was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure designed and built by Joseph Davenport in 1803 top 1804. The building burned in 1839. The second and present courthouse was a two story structure built in 1845 and rebuilt in 1903.



County Courthouse – Port Gibson





















County Circuit Court courtroom























Photos taken 2011 and 2019