Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Monroe County

Monroe County

Monroe County is named for James Monroe, who was the fifth President of the United States from 1817 to 1825.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Itawamba County

E – Marion County, Alabama and Lamar County, Alabama

S – Lowndes County

W – Clay County and Chickasaw County


Created:  February 9, 1821                                                        Map of Mississippi highlighting Monroe County

County Seat: 

Hamilton             1821 – 1830

Athens                1830 – 1840

Cotton Gin Port   1840 – 1841

Aberdeen            1841 – 1842

Athens                 1842 – 1847

Aberdeen             1847 – present


County Chancery Building – Aberdeen


Location:  201 West Commerce Street / Hickory Street

Built:  1885 – 1887

Style:  Victorian Romanesque

Architect:  Mifflin E Bell

Contractor:  McCarthy & Corbett


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick and gray colored stone structure. The building is located in the center of Aberdeen. The north front has five large arches on the first story with a central recessed entrance. The windows on the second story are arched. The third story has five small arched windows and the building rises to a peak. On the east side is an entrance towards the north with the building rising to a peak. The building has a gabled roof. In the interior, the County Chancery Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Chancery Court and County Youth Court. An addition was constructed on the south side in 1931 to 1932. In 1975 to 1976, the building was converted to a courthouse. The architect was Virden-Roberson-Harrison Ltd. of Columbus and the contractor was Wilemon Construction Company of Aberdeen.


Note:  The building was constructed as the United States Court House and Post Office. In 1975, the building was transferred to the county.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – US Court House and Post Office – Aberdeen


County Court House – Aberdeen



Location:  301 South Chestnut Street / East Madison Street

Built:  1857 – 1858

Style:  Greek Revival and Antebellum

Architect:  J A Pate and J B Taylor

Contractor:  Thomas J Davidson


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story white brick structure. The building is located on spacious grounds on the south side of the center of Aberdeen. The main building is rectangular with a recessed central entrance on the north front and balcony on the second story. On the center of the roof is a high clock tower with clock and dome at the top. On the west side is a two story cream colored brick addition and on the east side is a one story cream colored addition. The interior has a central hall plan with three cross hallways. Originally there were stairs at each of the four corners. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located at the center of the second story and has a balcony at the rear. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 1st Judicial District. In 1892 a vault was installed. The contractor was Lindamood & Puckett. The building was repaired in 1938. The contractor was H W McKinney. In 1941 an annex was constructed on the west side. The contractor was Perry Construction Company. The building was restored in 2009. The architect was Belinda Stewart Architects and the contractor was Tombigbee Contractors, Inc.


See:  Mississippi has five functioning antebellum courthouses located in Adams CountyAmite CountyClairborne County and Hinds County – Raymond.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Monroe County Court House


See:  The 1st Judicial District includes Alcorn County, Itawamba County, Lee County, Pontotoc CountyPrentiss County and Tishomingo County.


History:  The county was created in 1821 and Hamilton was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was erected. In 1830, the county seat was moved to Athens and the second courthouse was built. In 1840, the county seat was moved to Cotton Gin Port and rented premises were use. In 1841, the county seat was moved to Aberdeen and rented premises were used. The county seat was returned to Athens in 1842 and in 1847 the county seat was finally moved to Aberdeen in 1847 and the third courthouse was built. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1857 to 1858. The County Chancery Building was constructed in 1885 to 1887 and occupied in 1975 by the county.


County Government Complex – Amory



Location:  1619 Highland Drive / Guy Pickles Drive

Built:  1990 – 1991

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story concrete and glass structure. The building houses the County Youth Court and County Justice Court.



County Chancery Building – Aberdeen















County Chancery Court courtroom







County Courthouse – Aberdeen















County Circuit Court courtroom





















County Government Complex – Amory



Photos taken 2012, 2015 and 2017