Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Marion County

Marion County

Marion County is named for Francis Marion, who was a general in the American Revolutionary War and who lived from 1732 to 1795.


Surrounding County and Parish Courthouses: 

N – Lawrence County and Jefferson Davis County

E – Lamar County

S – Pearl River County and Washington Parish, Louisiana

W – Walthall County and Lawrence County


Created:  December 9, 1811                                                      Map of Mississippi highlighting Marion County

County Seat: 

Columbia  1811 – present


County Courthouse – Columbia 


Location:  250 Broad Street / Main Street

Built:  1905

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Patrick Henry Weathers of Jackson

Contractor:  G T Hallas & Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story white colored brick, gray colored colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of  the Public Square in the center of Columbia. The north front has a large portico with four high Corinthian columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There are similar porticos on the east and west sides. On the center of the roof is an octagonal Baroque style dome with clock and green colored roof tiles and with a small cupola at the top. The interior has marble wainscot and double staircase at the western corridor composed of marble treads, cast iron balustrade and wooden hand rail. Short hallways lead to the central rotunda. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 15th Judicial District and County Youth Court. In 1946, the rear addition was remodeled. The architect was Noah Webster Overstreet of Jackson and the contractor was Dye & Mullings of Columbia. In 1974, an addition was added. The architect was John Clifton Suffling and the contractor was Leon C Miles, Inc. In 1999, the building was renovated. The architect was Robert Parker Adams and the contractor was Carter & Mullings. On the southeast side is the one story County Courthouse Annex constructed in 1968, and on the west side is the County Justice Court.


Note:  The courthouse served as the Mississippi State capitol from 1821 to 1822. The previous courthouse was a two story structure built in 1880.


See: The architect, Patrick Henry Weathers of Jackson, Mississippi, designed courthouses in Louisiana in Tensas Parish; in Mississippi in Lamar County and Lee County; in Missouri in Cape Giradeau County, Daviess County and Stoddart County;  and in Oklahoma in Ellis County, Logan County and Washington County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Marion County Courthouse and Jail


County Chancery Court Building – Columbia 



Location:  250 Broad Street / Main Street

Built:  1967 – 1968

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Stephen Blair Jr. 

Contractor:  Seller Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story white colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Public Square in the center of Columbia on the southeast side of the courthouse. The building is L-shaped and the east front has a recessed entrance. The flat roof extends out from the building. The building is named as the Sebe Dale Jr, Chancery Court Building and houses the County Chancery Court.


See:  The 15th Judicial District includes Jefferson Davis CountyLamar County, Lawrence County and Pearl River County.


History:  The county was created in 1811 and Columbia was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1812, The second courthouse was built in 1860. The third courthouse was a two story wood structure built in 1891 at a cost of $20,000. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1905. The County Chancery Court Building was constructed in 1967 to 1968.



County Courthouse – Columbia

















County Circuit Court courtroom























County Chancert Court Building – Columbia









County Justice Court Building



Photos taken 2011 and 2019