Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Washington County

Washington County

Washington County is named for George Washington, who was the first President of the United States from 1789 to 1797.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Chautauqua County, Kansas and Montgomery County, Kansas 

E – Nowata County and Rogers County

S – Tulsa County

W – Osage County


Created:  July 16, 1907                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Washington County

County Seat:

Bartlesville  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Bartlesville 


Location:  420 Johnstone Avenue / East 5th Street

Built:  1931 – 1932

Style:  Federal

Architect:  James A Wetmore

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Bartlesville. The first story has arched windows and entrances. There is stone trim along the corners. The hipped roof is red colored tiles. The building was erected as the United States District Courthouse for the Northern District of the State of Oklahoma. The building houses the County District Court of the 11th Judicial District as of 1972. To the north is  the County administration Building.


Old County Courthouse – Bartlesville 



Location:  400 Frank Phillips Boulevard / Delaware Avenue                                  

Built:  1913 – 1914

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Patrick Henry Weathers of Jackson, Mississippi

Contractor:  Inland Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story colored buff brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Bartlesville to the northeast of the courthouse. The building has a raised basement. The west front has a large arch rising above the roof line. The entrance is recessed. A wide cornice runs below the third story. The east end of the building is curved. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the former courtroom was located at the east side of the second story. The building is now an office building.


See:  The 11th Judicial District includes Nowata County.


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Bartlesville was selected as the county seat. The county rented premises until the first courthouse was constructed in 1913 to 1914 at a cost of $115,000. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1931 to 1932 and occupied as the courthouse in 1972.



County Courthouse – Bartlesville







Old County Courthouse – Bartlesville















County Administration Building – Bartlesville





Photos taken 2010